Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been blogging for 3 years about lots of things – but not fashion. Recently however I started following a couple of fashion blogs for tall women that I came across, and there was a glamorous appeal to joining this world where one gets to attend fashion shows and waft around in the latest collection by whoever. So I thought about turning my hand to fashion blogging. For about 5 minutes. Then I remembered the following:

1 I’m hardly a fashionista – something which my friends and family will certainly attest. That doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate or admire style and form, however my comfortable practical gene often takes precedence, meaning I’d favour a waterproof anorak and comfy trainers on any scenic walk as opposed to the latest wedge heels and poncho any-day.

2 On the rare occasions that my ‘look’ is worthy of note there’s never a handy-photographer waiting to snap away. On the days that hair, make-up and outfit come together and I turn to my children to take a pic it’s one where they couldn’t be bothered to move off the sofa so I end up looking like I have a double chin.

3 I don’t have a cornflower field outside my house, or a trendy urban city backdrop. I have a garden, with a fence that looks like it needs painting. Not the best back-drop for a Vogue photo-shoot.

f93f00ad-0fb0-46a9-a3c8-2d3f9dd89566

Me trying to look sultry in the conservatory. My daughter telling me to hurry up so she can get back to the tv. Oh and the dress is from John Lewis.

4 I can’t be bothered. My recent foray into working from home gave me visions of experimenting with a new look, that of smart-but casual work-wear that wouldn’t look out of place on the school run or the office. Hail Capri pants and ironed fitted shirt look.It lasted about 3 days until I ran out of ironed shirts and opted for jeans and t-shirt again.

5 I would need my own hairdresser. Something that I think only women of great importance have. Notice the difference in Theresa May’s Barnet pre and post her PM role. She obviously now has a salaried hairdresser to pop in every morning to give her a quick blow dry. My hair regime consists of wash and go. Or wash and battle with hair-drier and go. Mornings are for making packed lunches, finding PE kits at the bottom of the laundry basket that I forgot to wash and remembering to charge up my work phone and switch on my laptop, not for any kind of styling that takes more than 5 minutes.

So I take my hat off to all you fashion bloggers that make it look so effortless – I will continue to be envious, and will keep trying to get a good pic of me on those days when it all comes together, but I think I’ll be sticking to the ‘harassed mum tries to make sense of life’ blogs – as that’s what I know best…

ee84c262-8c8f-40d0-b6cf-97d513d0cb6f

And this cute dress is from House of Fraser – a real hit for those summer evenings! Shame about the bad hair and drain-pipe behind me spoiling the pic…

